Know How To Grieve

“The reality is that you will grieve forever. You will not ‘get over’ the loss of a loved one; you will learn to live with it. You will heal, and you will rebuild yourself around the loss you have suffered. You will be whole again, but you will never be the same. Nor should you be the same, nor would you want to.”

Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, Swiss-American Psychiatrist

Loss is a much a part of life as breathing. Grieving is a very personal experience; there’s no right or wrong way to do it. How you grieve depends on many factors, including your personality and coping style, your life experience, your faith, and how significant the loss was to you.

Grieving the loss of a job is much different than grieving the loss of a child.

Five Stages of Grief

  • 1
    Denial: “This can’t be happening to me.”
  • 2

    Anger: “Why is this happening? Who is to blame?”

  • 3

    Bargaining: “Make this not happen, and in return I will ____.”

  • 4

    Depression: “I’m too sad to do anything. I can’t even talk.”

  • 5

    Acceptance: “I have peace in my life.”

Truth be told I had no idea grief had stages, and even though I somehow managed to reach the acceptance stage, I still go back to anger.

Don’t look at the stages as a road map to healing, they simply explain what you may go through along your journey. You can be going through any or all or none of them. There just explanations.

Depression is the worst and most dangerous place after loss. Be kind to yourself and try not to go through this alone.

Wherever you are on your journey, I hope you find peace.

Don’t be hard on yourself. Find forgiveness. Embrace understanding.